Part-Time Programmes


Prof. Oluwadare Christopher Taiwo

Brief History of the Directorate of Part-Time Programmes

The Directorate of Part-Time Programmes started as an External Degree Programme in the 1997/1998 session with five study centres located in Ado-Ekiti, Akure, Ibadan, Lagos and Ilorin, the number of study centres however increased with time.

In 2002, following the directive of the federal government on the closure of all study centres, the Senate of the University closed all the existing study centres and absorbed the students in the various study centres into the Ado-Ekiti campus to enable them continue and complete their studies.

As of now the Part-Time Programme Unit is fully domiciled on the main campus of the University.

The Programme:

The Programme is essentially a weekend programme designed to cater for working executives, middle class and junior workers seeking to improve on their employment.  It runs on Fridays, Saturdays and sometimes Sundays. The programme runs the same programmes with the regular University programmes at the undergraduate level.

The following programmes are run in the Directorate and approved by the National Universities Commission as at July, 2013

Applicants seeking admission into the Pre-Degree Programmes must possess a minimum of five ‘O’ level at one sitting, including English Language, Credit in Mathematics and three other Science subjects for all the Science based courses; credit in Mathematics and at least two Social Science subjects for all Social Sciences based courses and at least three Arts subjects for All Arts based courses. An entrance examination will be conducted to select eligible candidates for admission into the Programme

The Vision is to evolve a Directorate of Pre-Degree Programme that is a self financing and resource centre noted for academic excellence of global relevance in accordance with the vision statement of the University.

  • Source quality students for the University’s degree programmes and reduce the rare of dropouts from the University.
  • Ensure adequate preparation of eligible high school graduates for degree programmes.
  • Create opportunity for prospective students who could not be admitted into degree programmes though the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME).
  • Ensure the intellectual development of the students in the areas of critical thinking, oral and writing skills.
  • Set up the place as self financing and resource academic unit of the University.

i.     Harmonious staff – student relationship.
ii.    Academic integrity
iii.   Open administration
iv.    Accountability and probity
v.     Respect for natural endowment
vi.    Effective resource management
vii.   Effective Staff – Student welfare


Vice-Chancellor Chairman

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (A) Member

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (D) Member

Registrar Member

Bursar Member

Ag. University Librarian Member

Director, Directorate of Pre-Degree Programme Member

Provost, College of Medicine Member

Deans of Faculties Members

One Representative of Senate Member

Secretary, Directorate of Pre-Degree Programme Secretary


Director, Directorate of Pre-Degree Programme Chairman

Deans of Faculties Member

Assistant Directors Member

Director of Academic Affairs Member

Head of Academic Planning Member

Representative of University Libraian Member

Two Representatives of Senate Member

Secretary, Directorate of Pre-Degree Programme Secretary


The Management Committee is a Committee adopted in principle for effective day to day administration of the Directorate.


Director, Directorate, Pre-Degree Programme – Chairman

Assistant Directors – Members

Secretary to the Directorate – Member/Secretary

Directorate Accountant – Member

Option Secretaries – Members








1. Prof  E.B. Kolawole Professor/ Director

Pre-Degree Programmes

FMAN; FNIER, NCE (Nsukka) B.Sc. (Ed.), MSc., M.Ed (Ife),

PGD (CSC), Ph.D (Ado-Ekiti)  08033966701
2.  Olayinka

Adeniran-Ajayi (Mrs.)

Deputy Registrar/Secretary

Pre-Degree Programmes

B.Sc., (Ife) PGDE (Ado-Ekiti),

Cert Pers. Mgt &

Industrial Relations (Ascon);

Fellow (ICAD) MNIM, MIPM  08033737836
3.  Dr. (Mrs.) I. O.  Adesanya Snr. Lecturer/Assistant Director (Arts Option) B.A. (Ibadan)

M.A., Ph.D (Ado-Ekiti)  08133946799
4. Dr. S. Arowosegbe Snr. Lecturer /

Assistant Director (Biological Science Option)

B.Sc. M.Sc. Ph.D

(Ado-Ekiti)  08035062913
5. Engr.  O. L. Oke Snr. Lecturer/

Assistant Director

(Physical  Sciences  Option)

B.Sc,  (Ife) M.Sc., (Ibadan);

Ph.D (Nottingham)

MNSE; R.Eng 08052682689
6. Dr. B. O. Bankole Snr. Lecturer/

Assistant Director

(Social Sciences)

B.A., M.Sc. (Zaria)

Ph.d. (Ado-Ekiti)  08038075819
7. Mr. Adebayo Omojola HEO/Option Secretary

Physical Sciences

B.A. (Eng.)  08034471296
8. Mrs. F.F. Okeke HEO/ Option Secretary

Social Sciences

B.Sc. (Bus. Admin.)  08038422161
9. Mrs. E.M. Falade HEO/ Option Secretary



10. Mrs. R.I. Akinyosotu Snr. Assistant Registrar/

Option Secretary

Biological Sciences



11. Mrs. M.A. Adeleye Accountant I/

Directorate Accountant










1. Mrs. C.O. Akinola Chief Personal Secretary to the Director B.Sc.

2. Mrs. J.B. Ajayi  Operations Manager B.Sc. (Acct.), (Ado-Ekiti)

B.Sc. Ed. (Computer. Sc.) (Ado-Ekiti)

bunmiajayi109@gmail. com 07037570335
3. Mrs.  A. B. Oluwadare Senior Executive Officer B.Sc. 08038436946
4. Mr. P. K.  Ayodele Higher Executive Officer B.Sc. 08035224686
5. Mrs. E.T. Onaolapo Assist. Executive Officer NCE, B.Sc. onaolapott1’@ 08030652824
6. Mrs. V.A. Adedeji Chief  Typist WASC, 35 & 50 W.PM, GR2, DIP   08064798959
7. Mrs. T.C. Oluwabiyi Typist I General Grading Test 25 & 35 W.P. M;  Diploma in Computer Training;

Diploma in Computer Studies 07033812763
8. Mr. T. Adeosun Transport Officer I Trade Test;  II; III

9. Mr. A.I. Ajibulu Clerical Officer I NABTED, NECO 08039617736
10. Mrs. F. Olofintuyi Clerical Officer  I Grade Two Cert., B.Sc. 08060713591
11. Mrs. M. Adeusi Senior Clerical Officer ND. HND

12. Miss O.B. Afolabi Clerical Officer I GCE, NCE

13 Mr. A.C. Abejide Senior Office Assistant NECO, GCE   07030388416
14. Mrs. E. Bamisaye Senior Office Assistant Primary Six 08034745319